Frozen Delights

I made two of my kids favorite frozen treats yesterday and they are both almost gone!  I thought I would share here because these would make add a nice touch to your 4th of July celebration.  They are both easy, inexpensive, and you can make them ahead and freeze.

 

The first one is, Watermelon Slush.  This recipe was shared with me by my good friend, Monica Thompson.

1/2 Seedless Watermelon-cubed

Juice of one-two limes
Sugar (or sweetener) to taste

You will need a blender and a large pan with sides (I used a glass 9×13 inch dish).

I placed 1/4 of the cubed watermelon, juice of one lime, 1/4 cup sugar in the blender and pureed until smooth.

Pour this mixture into the glass dish.

I then placed the other 1/4 of the cubed watermelon, juice from a second lime, and 1/4 sugar in the blender, pureed and poured it into the dish.  I covered it very well with plastic wrap and placed on a shelf in the freezer overnight.

For the 9×13 dish, the above recipe was as much as it could hold safely.  So if you wanted to double the recipe, you will need a second dish.  You could freeze in a large plastic bowl instead of glass.  Avoid placing in metal pans.

I let mine stand a few minutes at room temperature and then broke it up and placed in cups with a dollop of cool whip.

 

Second, a new twist on an old favorite- Arctic S’mores.

I know I saw this recipe and I think I posted it at some point on my other blog.  I cannot remember where I saw it though.  I am not claiming this one came out of my head, but I did name it.

1 large tub of cool whip (You can use lite)

Small choco morsels
Mini marshmallows
1 Box of graham Crackers

I placed a sheet of tin foil on a cookie sheet that would fit in my freezer and then filled it with one layer of graham crackers squares(refer to photo).

I then mixed the tub of cool whip (minus about 1 cup that I used to garnish the Watermelon Slush), 1/2 a bag of the mini choco morsels, and about the 1/2 the pkg of marshmallows.

I added a helping tablespoon to each graham cracker square and then went back and topped them with another square.  I still had some mixture left over so right on top of the layer I had prepared I started a second layer.  I placed a few more squares down, topped them with the mixture and placed the remaining squares on top.  Cover and freeze overnight.

 

Enjoy your Frozen Delights,

Signature

 

One thought on “Frozen Delights

Leave a Reply

