Summer Snacks

With three kids being home all summer, I realize that they will be hungry and I will need to feed them,  Haha.  Seriously though, I like for them to eat as healthy as possible and also as economically as possible.  So I began looking around the internet and found a couple of sites that I felt offered variety, healthy and they are also economical.  I whipped up three snacks to pop in the freezer in addition to our traditional “summer only” store-bought popsicles and here is what I have done so far.

Easy Cheesy Crackers from  100 Days of Whole Food blog .  This is the first time I have made cheese crackers.  They were eaten up, but I am not sure I will make these again.  I do recommend not refrigerating the dough before you make them.  Just make the dough, form the log and slice and bake.

Blueberry Yogurt Protein Bites from Kristen Duke’s Capturing Joy blog . I also made a batch with diced strawberries.  The kids (and grown-ups) really like them!!!  I think next time I will make them with mini chocolate morsels.

 

And one of my own-Pizza Snack Pockets.  I made three varieties-pepperoni with sauce, cheese with sauce, and just cheese no sauce.  I place a damp paper towel over them on a microwavable plate and hit quick defrost for about 30-1 min.  Keep an eye on them so they do not burn and be careful to let them cool before serving them to littles.

It is really as simple as the pictures show.  I used Rhode’s rolls, I let them rise and then rolled them out. Even though I folded and pinched the edges, some of them still came open.

To reheat from the freezer: Place snack pocket(s) on a paper plate, drape with a damp paper towel.  I select the quick defrost bottom and watch for a minute and a half.  At this point just keep checking on it until it is thawed and heated.  If heating from fridge, cover with damp paper towel, heat for 30 seconds. Snack pockets may be hot-allow to cool before eating.

 

Happy Snacking!

Signature

 

One thought on “Summer Snacks

  1. Pingback: Breakfast for Dinner | A Home of Hope & Grace

Leave a Reply

